• Archives

  • Topics

  • Meta

  • The Boogeyman - Working Vacation
  • Coming Home
  • Quest To the North
  • Via Serica
  • Tales of the Minivandians
  • Join the NRA

    Join the NRA!

The fun gun

Robb asks a great question:  What is the most fun firearm you own and why?

For me, it has to be my 1936 Mosin Nagant 91/30. Yeah, the sights are rudimentary (fixing that), turning the safety on is an exercise in upper body strength (fixing that), and the trigger gives my entire right hand a work out (also fixing that), but it’s also the most comfortable rifle I’ve ever fired, has outstanding recoil, and I can shoot it all day long for the cost of about $5 worth of ammunition.  It was the first centerfire rifle I ever bought, and I fell in love with it the first time I shot it.  It has gone on every range trip, and it never fails to give me that recoil therapy I crave so much.

Next in line would have to be my Thompson Center Omega muzzleloader.  Yeah, it’s a modern inline muzzleloader, and I’ve been scoffed at for buying it when a base model Kentucky long rifle wasn’t that much more expensive.  But it goes bang every time I pull the trigger, it has a strong but not unpleasant kick, and is accurate at the distances I shoot.  My favorite part is the necessity to stop between shots, take a moment to think while I reload it, then putting it back up to my shoulder to make smoke and noise.  I like it enough that I’m considering buying another to give to Girlie Bear as her first hunting rifle.

So what are y’all’s favorite guns?

Previous Post

9 Comments

  1. My friend’s 308 Yugoslav Mauser (M48A) … and he won’t sell it to me 😦 So I guess I don’t own it 😦 BUT it is the most fun gun I’ve ever shot.

    Of the guns I own – my Rossi Tuffy … it kicks like a mule but I really, really, really like it! It’s also fun to watch others shoot it – because it kicks like a mule!

    Like

  2. Wilson

     /  May 17, 2012

    Any of my S&W 357s!

    Like

  3. I said it over there, but it’s something that needs to be enjoyed by more people–my Henry 22 loaded with CB shorts. No louder than the hammer dropping, and the tube can hold a prodigious number of the little suckers. It is impossible not to have fun with it.

    Like

  4. I love my Mosin as well, it is a year newer than yours. I keep really feeling the urge to pick up an M44 though BC something about those just rubs me the right way. I was entirely too close to picking up a Chinese Type 53 last time I was at a gun shop, but luckily good sense won out.

    I think my favorites though are my Beretta Neos and my 10/22.

    Like

  5. My GSG 1911-22. Love that little gun. Followed closely by my husband’s Henry Survival Rifle. I have bigger guns, too, but the little .22s are my favorite for just farting around and plinking.

    Like

  6. auntiejl

     /  May 17, 2012

    Super-Soaker 5000. It ticks the cats off. 😉

    Like

  7. Heavyhunter

     /  May 17, 2012

    My Marlin 1894 .38 CBC. It is probably the most fun I can have with a gun in my hand. Undoubtably it is because I happen to be able to shoot it fast and reasonably accurate. Ii I were pressed to name a second gun I would say it is my Ruger Mark 3 22/45. Mostly because I can shoot it for very little cost and it makes me smile to spend time behind the trigger of any of the guns I own.

    Like

  1. SayUncle » Fun Guns
  2. Fun Guns | concealed holsters