• Archives

  • Topics

  • Meta

  • The Boogeyman - Working Vacation
  • Coming Home
  • Quest To the North
  • Via Serica
  • Tales of the Minivandians
  • Join the NRA

    Join the NRA!

Dear Saint Xavier High School of Louisville

I wanted to thank you for helping our family make a very important decision.  You see, Irish Woman and I have been struggling as to which direction to take the BooBoo’s education.  We live in an area with excellent public schools, a well-regarded secular K-12 school, and a Catholic K-8 school that feeds to the Catholic high schools, including y’all.  I am a product of public schools, and I know that with hard work by both Irish Woman and I we can make sure that Boo gets a good education in the public school system.  Irish Woman is a product of the Catholic school system here in Louisville, and even went to your sister high school for girls.

To be honest, we have been in disagreement over which way to go.  I favor the secular private school or the public schools.  Irish Woman wants to put him in Catholic schools.  It’s really a difference of opinion at this point.  With enough work and pushing, he can get a good education in public schools, and I know that both the secular and Catholic private schools can provide an excellent start to his life.  I had been leaning toward dropping my opposition to the Catholic school system due to the importance that Irish Woman places on it.

But after reading this, I have to regretfully tell you all this:

It will be a cold day in hell before a dime of our families money, a drop of our sweat, or a second of our lives are spent in support of your school or the schools that feed students to you.

You see, I have been that boy.  Halfway through my senior year of high school, I decided to postpone college and enter the military. I signed up for the delayed entry program, finished high school, then left for basic training.  I wore the promotional tee shirt and all that to school, and took all the crap my Bay Area teachers and fellow students could hand out.  I was harangued by my English teacher and guidance counselor about how I was throwing my life away.  My ‘friends’ tried to convince me that I was going to be a killer.  Exactly two people in the entire school acted like I was more than a bastard at the family reunion:  the janitor and the vice-principal.

This young man has decided to to start his adult life by doing something more honorable than partying, blowing off classes, trying to figure out how to sneak booze into the dorm, and participating in the annual re-enactment of Animal House.  He’s choosing to give up his youth to do something for all of us, and you shamed him for celebrating that decision.  No matter what policy you change now that you’ve been called out for your behavior, your attitude that anyone who decides that college isn’t the most important thing in life is less of a person won’t change.

So thank you for simplifying our decision.  We are now down to a choice between two options for our child’s education, and we won’t be bothering you with our quaint belief in such things as selfless service, duty, and honor.

Yours truly,

Daddy J. Bear

Previous Post
Next Post

9 Comments

  1. No offense to Irish Woman but my three years of catholic education sucked, and based off that experience that doesn’t surprise me. Not that our local public school was alot better I’ll admit.

    Like

  2. Well said!

    Like

  3. Not Catholic, but I find it appalling that a Catholic school has a problem with the ideas of honor, loyalty, selfless service, etc.

    Like

  4. There are Catholics and then there are “Catholics.” Just like anything, sigh…

    Like

    • This wasn’t a dig against Catholics in general, just a statement of intent when it comes to this particular Catholic institution.

      Like

      • No, I got you. I would say that this particular “Catholic” institution… isn’t Catholic. They probably get as far as praying to Mary and then stop.

        Like

  5. WhiskeySierra

     /  May 19, 2012

    Your problem is thinking StX is a good school. Everyone knows they suck and Trinity is better.

    Like

  6. Good call.

    I’d like to see someone, preferably a Marine DI with a bad attitude, have an attitude adjustment talk with the pretentious gas-bags that call themselves school administrators, but especially the fine fellow labeling himself as “school disciplinarian”. I think he could be taught a few things about discipline.

    And should Irish Woman’s family expel you, rest assured you can throw your size 13s under my dining room table anytime at all.

    Like